Some Must-Haves

I was told once that if you write down a list of what you want in a partner, that package or something very close to it magically appears. So I wrote mine about a year and a half ago and recently came across it again. It seems that I need to revise it. Living with a teenager is a more effective form of birth control than losing sleep with a baby. Yeah, it’s time to take off the “open to having kids.” That door has closed for me.

However, some of my requests are still relevant and still must-haves. For example, a man absolutely must be a good kisser. I love, love kissing. I could do it for hours, so bad kissing is simply a deal breaker. A sense of humor is another must. Life is too short to spend it with someone who doesn’t make me laugh and add some levity to the darker times.

Here are a few more.

The arrival of the Halloween season reminds me that he has to enjoy scary movies. It might sound silly, but it’s true. It’s really not fun to watch them alone, it’s much better to have a hand to grab or a shoulder to hide behind. My girlfriends just don’t make appropriate substitutes.

Roller coasters. I love them. He must also. It’s all about the thrill and feeling like a kid and the rush and laughing hysterically. No sitting out on the sidelines; sticks-in-the-mud need not apply.

Food. Obviously, everyone eats. My sense of adventure extends to eating. I love everything. Mexican, Chinese, Thai, sushi, cheese, all kinds of animals and fish. Those who limit their diets to meat and potatoes or just vegetables tend to bore me to death. Frankly, I don’t understand it. Eating is one of the great pleasures we have in life, why limit it to one country or one species? Granted, he doesn’t have to love everything, I have my own quirks about lima beans and wild game, but being open to new experiences is so attractive.

While I’m on the subject of oral pleasures (no, I’m not going there, not yet), I really need a man who drinks. This may make me sound like a lush, but I’m okay with that. I can’t imagine not being able to share a glass of wine with someone or discovering a new whiskey together. It’s another aspect of sensuality that I’m just not willing to close myself off to and it’s better shared. Besides, there is something so undeniably sexy about a kiss that tastes of good booze.

That’s just a few. As I whittle and refine, I’ll share more with you. In the meantime, if Mr. Perfect (for me) happens to show up, I’ll let you in on that too.

~ by Kat on October 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
