Tonight’s Lesson

My friend J and I went out for a couple of drinks. I’d had a shitty day, all I wanted was a drink with my best friend. And then I got more than I bargained for.

She knew it. The guy in the sweatshirt was eyeballing her. He approached her with the line, “I know you from somewhere.” Thus the back and forth. Do you go here? Where do you work? I know I know you. And I got bored. I was already bitchy so I wasn’t nice. After 10 minutes I was ready to tell him to go away. He finally took half a clue, but asked J to play shuffleboard with him later. I don’t know this game other than from what I’ve seen on The Love Boat.

We continued our conversation but were interrupted again because Mr. Sweatshirt needed a partner for shuffleboard and insisted that it be J. Fine, I can drink and watch shuffleboard at the same time. I can be bitchy anywhere in the bar. And I was. Noticeably. Mr. Sweatshirt seemed offended by my behavior, attitude, comments. I was offended that he didn’t include Palm Springs as being in Southern California. Really? Where the fuck is it then? Nevada? Texas? Have you seen a map recently? Or ever?

I was soon accused of being “hard-shelled” and “unapproachable”. Seriously, I’m not. I just didn’t like this guy and was watching out for my bff. But guess what? At the end of the night, he wanted my number. I can only conclude from this experience that guys want women to be bitchy. It’s not how I want to be, it’s not who I really am. In this instance I couldn’t help it. He was a douche. As evidenced by turning over to the dark side of my bitchiness rather than sticking with my friend’s charm.

Really, nobody wins in this scenario. At least we can learn from it.

~ by Kat on October 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
