The Years In Review

Hoo boy, is it dusty around here!!

So one year I had a long stale period and one fling. The second year I was in a relationship and it’s hard to blog about someone you’re currently being nice to and trying to impress. How did Carrie manage it all the time? Actually, she got laid a LOT so maybe I should just get over it.

Anyhoo.

We can catch up later, but for now I want to talk about some of the things I’ve figured out about men (and myself) in the last couple of years.

  1. Rules were made for a reason. They are also made to be broken. I broke the rule of not dating someone I work with. And it worked out mostly. Mostly because we no longer work together. The lesson? I think I’m okay with my rules.
  2. I should really go with my first instinct. I don’t have to be fair all the time. I don’t have to give all the chances. My gut has learned a few things over the years and pretty much knows what’s up. If it feels “off”, it should probably be broken off.
  3. Online dating hasn’t really changed over the years. It’s still most useful for entertainment.
  4. I do believe that men are getting needier. It must be something about the imbalance of power with more of us women becoming increasingly independent. I wish they could just suck it up, remind themselves we make only 78cents per their dollar, and fake it until they make it.
  5. Inversely, the older I get, the less I am willing to settle. If anything, I’m getting pickier. I like me. I like my life. I like having a bed to myself. I like eating ice cream for dinner when I want. It will take someone really well-qualified to change that. That being said, there are some things that matter less to me, but the things that do matter, matter a lot.

Here’s to renewed dating success in 2016!!

~ by Kat on December 30, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
